Museo Filangieri


Palazzo Como, which has become a civic museum for the will of Gaetano Filangieri, is one of the few survivors of Renaissance architecture in Naples.

It was born as a residence of Angelo Como (transformed by Neapolitans in Cuomo), a Florentine merchant near the Aragonese court, who built it in the second half of the 1950s by exporting the forms of the Tuscan Renaissance, found in the criss-crossed façade. During the Neapolitan Revitalization, part of the building was demolished, which blocked the passage of the new Duomo Street, saving the façade, which was reassembled on the new road front.

In 1888 it became a civic museum, enclosing the rich collection donated by Gaetano Filangieri, with the aim of creating a new form of museum: a museum-school, with the purpose of instructing students through the exhibition of the new art school of Naples, introducing them to the new industrial techniques that were emerging at that time.

Its collection boasts over 3,000 objects of various origin and dating. Exemplars of applied arts (majolica, porcelain, biscuit, ivory, weapons), paintings and sculptures from the 16th to the 19th century are also collected, as well as a library with about 30,000 volumes and a historical archive with documents from the 13th to the 19th centuries. In the painting there are many paintings of the seventeenth century Neapolitan, including works by Jusepe de Ribera, Luca Giordano, Andrea Vaccaro, Battistello Caracciolo, Mattia Preti.

In addition to the many exposed objects, the same structure of the palace is itself a work of art: from the Carlo Filangieri hall with its vaults totally covered with golden mosaics to the majestic spiral staircase entirely made of piperno, to the Agata hall, explosion of Art and artistic and architectural beauty.